Living Room Ideas

Now that you have seen the pictures of my beautiful living room, let’s talk about what I want to change. I know, I know, why would I want to change perfection?

Let’s look at the soon-to-be before once more:

Let’s start from the top down. Curtains. I have been searching high and low for fabric I love. I found one this week that I am seriously contemplating:

 I love the color, the print, the batik look. My style tends to lean rather tropical, so I have to be careful to not go too far in that direction. With my 1970’s classic 8-foot ceilings, I want to hang the curtains closer to the ceilings and wider so I can pretend I live in luxury. I then need to figure out some way to block the windows when we watch tv, but I’m not sure how to finagle that yet.

I want to remove the rocking chair on the left and replace the two stools on the right with upholstered chairs. That is probably not happening any time soon, so don’t hold your breath.

I think the biggest effect will happen when I change out the rug for something more appropriately sized. My first inclination is a natural colored sisal rug, but I’m not sure if that would be soft enough for the babe. Right now I’m loving this jute rug from West Elm:

The coffee table is my favorite thing in the room, but it doesn’t quite match the couch. I am going to make it last for as long as possible, but I would like something white or metal or even upholstered. No more dark wood!

Add in two end tables with matching lamps. I saw these at Target the other day and with an interesting shade, they could be perfect:

But, check out that price tag – not necessarily Target cheap!

Looking at the far wall again:

I want to add some bookshelves along that wall to mirror the door opening. Let’s see if I can convince my delightful husband to build me something beautiful.

I really need to get started on projects at my house, but I can’t find the time! I have big plans this weekend and house guests. How do the big time bloggers find the time? I think I need a day planner. That would solve all my problems, right?

4 Comments to “Living Room Ideas”

  1. Why not do a nice slipcover for the couch? They’re not the nicest looking things in the world, but they are very practical. Can just throw it in the wash if Mae (or her favorite Auntie Anna!) spills something on it, and then you can make it match the coffee table too!

    • Don’t worry Anna, I have plans for the coffee table, so it’s not leaving for good! The couch is in very good shape and is nice quality, so I am going to try and work it in by lightning up the room around it. If that doesn’t work, I will be hitting you up for slipcover advice! 🙂

  2. I don’t have slipcover advice. I just think it’s a good idea. My current “slipcover” on our couch our blankets randomly thrown over it to protect it somewhat from dog hair. Awesome, I know. Aren’t you glad that I am apparently obsessed with your blog and leaving random comments all over it?

Leave a Reply

