Let’s Talk Living Room

Disclaimer: I have no idea how to take pictures. Seriously. Don’t judge me for my ineptitude. One would think this is a requirement for running a blog, but I plan to defy the odds. As Nigel Lythgoe told that cute dancer last night, I’m “breaking down barriers.”

So, anyway, let’s get to the post. I want to show you my living room. Everything is exactly where we put it when we moved in two years ago and I have made no changes. It doesn’t match, look oppressively traditional and the scale is all wonky. But we rarely use it, so nothing changes. Want to see this spectacle of glory?

Here is looking out our front window from the dining area:

I am embarrassed to admit the window treatments were put up by the previous owner. Have I mentioned I am lazy? The couch is brown, and that’s all I have to say about it. The rug is too small and a particularly red shade of red. I love the coffee table.

The room is actually shaped like an L, so I will try to show it from other angles so you can get a feel. If you look to the left of the  couch, there is a large opening into the room. The front door is just behind the wall with the fern prints.

If you stand in the opening and look into the room, this is what you see:

Boring. The television is just to the right of the picture and the whole neighborhood can see it at night. We have discussed blocking the window, but we don’t want to deprive the neighborhood of their free drive in theater. That mirror on the back wall is very cool. It was given to us as a wedding present and I haven’t figured out where to put it in this house. It has the most beautiful relief carved wooden frame. Right now it’s a kissing booth for Mae. I washed the grubby handprints off just for this picture.

Now if we make a right turn, you look into the dining area:

Again, dark wood, no decorations, and messed up scale.

I have lots and lots of plans for this room. I just need to get my tuchus in gear and get started. Any thoughts on what I want? I’ll give you a hint:

Note: I said want. Don’t be shocked if this never happens.

Leave a Reply

