New Store Love

On our way to the beach, we stopped at two amazing antique shops in Hollywood (no, not that Hollywood. A tiny town with the same name.) The first wasn’t open, but a man sitting outside selling art let us look around the warehouse. It was huge! We will definitely have to go back when the owner is there.

There were piles of furniture everywhere, in varying states of disrepair. Every time I moved around a stack, I would find a new treasure. Look at this amazing table – each of the legs looked like this:

And the top is below. I couldn’t get up high enough to get a good picture, but it was amazing! There were inlaid animals and palm trees.

It wasn’t in great shape, and I would have no idea how to repair it, but have you ever seen anything like that? There were no prices posted in the warehouse, so I have no idea if he has good prices or not.

We were directed to another store right down the street. I’m not sure if it was an antique store or a consignment shop, but I don’t care! The prices were astoundingly amazing. I could not believe the deals they had!

I really want this table:

The table, 4 chairs and leaf were $125 for everything! I am going to try to convince Greg to go back and get it. It felt like a game table, but it was plenty big enough for dining. The top of the table looked like parquet floor, but I have no idea what you call that. I searched all over and it seemed to be in great shape. The chairs have caned backs, which I failed to get pictures of.

I think I would remove the pads on the back, which were just buttoned through the caning, and reupholster the seats in something really fun. The fabric Jamie Meares used on the seat cushions in the below picture would be amazing, but with a brighter colored trim!

BTW – Jamie Meares at isuwannee may be one of my interior design style icons. I secretly love her from afar. You should check out her blog.

P.S. If I were a good blogger I would have gotten pictures of the store fronts, or even remembered their names. I will try and get that info next weekend. Or, you know, when I go back to get that table. (Hint, hint G. Man.)

Leave a Reply

